Southeast Alberta baseball builder among Alberta Sports Hall of Fame inductees

By CHAT News Today
February 27, 2017 - 12:44pm Updated: February 28, 2017 - 10:11am

 RED DEER, AB — One of the builders of baseball in southeast Alberta will be enshrined in the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame this year.

Doug Jones, who founded the Badlands Baseball Academy in Oyen and was one of the co-founders of the Prairie Baseball Academy in Lethbridge, was one of 12 inductees announced Monday morning for the Hall of Fame.

Jones was also a former president of the Western Major Baseball League and also served as president of Baseball Alberta. He is currently the Mayor of Oyen.

Other inductees into the Hall of Fame include former Edmonton Oilers forward Ryan Smyth, former Olympic boxer Rick Duff, Olympic swimmer Keltie Duggan, golfer Marilyn Palmer O'Connor, World Cup skier John Kucera, tennis builder Hans Maciej, basketball builder Herbert McLachlin, squash builder Sharon Trenaman and the 1984/85 NAIT Ooks hockey team.

Sportswriter Jeff Hansen is the recipient of the Bell Memorial Award and baseball player Betty Carveth Dunn will receive the Pioneer award.

The induction ceremony will take place May 26.

Financial records for Medicine Hat Tigers revealed as part of CHL lawsuit