Stroh skipped rink wins 69th Annual Ladies Bonspiel "A" title

By Matt Nemeth
March 19, 2017 - 9:42pm

MEDICINE HAT, AB — The Holly Stroh skipped rink took home the Medicine Hat Curling Club’s 69th Annual Ladies Bonspiel “A” title Sunday afternoon in a finish that came down to the final rock.

Stroh and her team defeated a squad helmed by Nanette Dupont of Lethbridge 5-4 in the championship match.

After giving up three in the seventh end to trail by one heading into the final frame, Stroh picked up two points in the eighth with a draw to the four foot to seal the deal.

Playing with Stroh were Carla Weinheimer, Joanne Hodges, and Lory dela Cruz.

In the bonspiels “B” final it was Terry Lerner and her rink comprised of Medicine Hat and Redcliff players that came away victorious over Lisa Depas’ team from Brooks.

The “C” championship saw Sandy Bell and her team consisting of Vicki Sjolie, Hailey Rempel, and Verna Moch from Medicine Hat end things early in the sixth end against Shirley Roy’s squad.

The Medicine Hat Curling Club will end its season with the Oilmen’s Bonspiel which runs March 24-26.

Hockey playoff game in Calgary decided by coin toss